top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecca

Fur-loughed

I work in the hospitality industry and it has been obviously very strange during the Covid-19 crisis. Whilst it is obviously in everyone's best interest to keep bars and restaurants closed to slow the spread of the virus, myself and lots of people in hospitality around the UK have found themselves out of work or on the furlough scheme. In all honestly the scheme is incredibly helpful - we are literally paid to stay away from our jobs - but of course the current climate means we may not have a job to go back to! I work for an independent company and we are constantly brain storming ways to weather this storm. I can't continue this post without saying how incredibly lucky we are to have the NHS, carers and keyworkers who are on the frontline, risking their lives everyday to battle this disease and not being paid to just stay home.

 
Not a fan of outside baths!

Today I'm thinking about how lucky I am that being furloughed has allowed me to do this, take time to read and consider the books on my #TBR shelf, organise my thoughts on what I'm reading and actually write them down :)

Another positive I am taking from 2020 so far is the opportunity to take Brie out lots more and make sure she gets lots of exercise. It's easy as dog owners to get into a routine and when you're busy at work, do the bare minimum when it comes to dog walks (especially in bad weather!) For example, here's Brie after a hose pipe shower when she rolled in something diabolically smelly >

 

We've also been able to go to the local reservoir and play lots of fetch in the water - Brie being part Labrador means she loves a good swim! Fellow dog owners how are your pups reacting to the change in day to day routines? Are you home more like me and worried they'll get attached to the idea causing separation anxiety when we all go back to work? Or have you ended up out more due to work and miss their face even more than normal?


Hoping for a positive change in the next few weeks!


Thanks for reading!


Becca & Brie xxx


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page