top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecca

Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Updated: Jul 16, 2020

I was a bit worried when I started this one. It's a longer read than my mind has had to concentrate on whilst in lockdown, and knowing that Owens is a very established nature writer, I thought: have I fallen into the #bestseller trap?! But honestly, I LOVED it! It is unlike anything I've read recently. A gripping story of personal growth in times of serious hardship and Owens successfully brings the marshlands to life with such beautiful, evocative metaphors and attention to detail.

 

"Drifting back to the predictable cycles of tadpoles and the ballet of fireflies, Kya burrowed deeper into the wordless wilderness. Nature seemed the only stone that would not slip midstream"

 

It is a perfect collaboration of a captivating protagonist (who Owens ensures you are rooting for), an exploration of social division in nineteen sixties North Carolina, and truly romantic imagery and tone all infused with a compelling plot. I wanted to get to the end and never finish it all at once and would 100% recommend to anyone who needs an escape from discussions of the current Covid-19 crisis.

 

Yes, we got stuck, but what'd we girls do? we made it fun, we laughed. That's what sisters and girlfriends are all about. Sticking together even in the mud,

'specially in mud."

 

When I turned the last page I immediately went to Goodreads and started reading others' reviews. To my disappointment there were some people who felt the main character of Kya was a 'stock' female character, never truly growing and putting the needs of the men in her life to the top of her priority list. I'm compelled to disagree with this idea as a whole, I thought Kya grew into a strong independent character who ultimately made her own decisions, knowing what it could cost her. With regards to the male characters in the story, she does long for their love and attention, but I would argue that she learns from every interaction with them, shaping her independence and confidence in her own wants and needs.

 

"She knew it wasn't Chase she mourned, but a life defined by rejections. As the sky and clouds struggled overhead, she said out loud, "I have to do life alone. But I knew this. I've known a long time that people don't stay."

 

'Where the Crawdads Sing' was honestly the most satisfying read I've had in a while and knowing the rights have been sold to appear on screen in some way means you get to experience it twice!


Thanks for reading folks! X








12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page