top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecca

Review: The Argument by Victoria Jenkins

The Argument was actually the first book I've read on Kindle in quite a long time. As a publishing graduate and true bibliophile I could be described as snobby about paper vs plastic when it comes to book formats. HOWEVER, Covid-19 has made physical books less accessible (or at least at first it did) so I fell into an Amazon wormhole and ordered a few ebooks.

 

I had never heard of Jenkins before I read this book so I didn't know what to expect. I found the story to be really addictive - I really wanted to know how everything would turn out for Olivia and Hannah and if what I had perceived would be the ending, actually was. It was definitely not what I expected...

 

Caught somewhere between the teenager sneaking out to parties and the adult with real responsibilities I wasn't sure who I felt more aligned to, Olivia or her mother Hannah. Told from the perspective of both it was an intricate weave through the dynamics of the family with (deliberately) cleverly confusing narration and one of the biggest psychological twists I've read for a while! I actually think that the twist is the reason I would recommend this book to friends. Jenkins is obviously a fantastic writer but it is the plot and clever story telling that really stands out and made me not want to put the kindle down!

 

Ultimately, The Argument has made me want to seek out more of Jenkins' work because sometimes I need a bit of a #domesticthriller as a break from #femlit to keep me on my toes as both a reader and writer. This is a psychologically clever exploration of mother daughter relationships and how we perceive them.


Thanks for reading folks!





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page